Dodgers Shortstop Corey Seager Wins NL Rookie of the Year

On Monday, Corey Seager the shortstop for the Los Angeles Dodgers was named the National League Rookie of the Year for 2016. The talented shortstop beat out pitcher Kenta Maeda his teammate and Trea Turner a shortstop with the Washington Nationals.

Seager, who is just 22, was the odds on favorite for most of the season and for good reason. He played well above average throughout the 162-game season, while playing one of the most high demand positions.

Seager played in 157 games this season ending with a batting average of .308. He hit 26 home runs.

No other NL rookie was able to compete with the impact he had for his team. He became the 17th member of the Los Angeles Dodgers organization to be named Rookie of the Year.

He is also the first Dodgers player to win the award since 1996 when Todd Hollandsworth took home the award.

Seager joins the likes of a star-studded lineup of Dodgers’ greats that have won the award including Mike Piazza, Fernando Valenzuela and Jackie Robinson.

In what can be termed as surprising given how important his position matters, Seager is the first shortstop for the Dodgers to win the rookie award.

In comparison, four second basemen with the Dodgers have won the award. In addition, Seager became the first shortstop in the NL to win the ROY since 2006 when it was won by Hanley Ramirez.

Houston Astros’ Carlos Correa was the last shortstop in the American League to win the award and that came in 2015.

Seager was the leader for rookies in games played in the NL, as well as in hits, hits for extra bases and was tied for the lead for RBIs.

Seager was second for NL rookies in home runs, behind Trevor Story the rookie shortstop for Colorado.

Turner and teammate Maeda at the same time deserve to be recognized for their achievements. Turner was one of the biggest catalysts this season for Washington through the postseason. Maeda was the most reliable starter the Dodgers had when it came to health.

Turner did not have the playing time that Seager did all season and Maeda was not in the spotlight that Seager was and that was why the two were second and third respectively.

Seager becomes the 12th player in the NL and the 21st overall to win the award unanimously. He joined the winner from last year Kris Bryant on that list.

Leave a Reply